Houston Babies

potty training age question

So I hear/read you should start between 18-24 months, but Addie is not interested. Matter of fact she freaks out if I try to sit her on the toilet, even with her little seat. (I'll admit I only tried twice, I don't want to push her). The thing is I don't care that much. She's fine in diapers, won't be 2 until December and even if she's not interested then I'm not too worried.

So at what age would you try to seriously start training? Is there a too old age IYO? It seems like most of our friends, including those Addie's age or a bit younger, are trained or in training. Maybe peer pressure will encourage her.

-Clare
imageBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker imageLilypie Premature Baby tickers

Re: potty training age question

• I think the time to start them is maybe when they show an interest.  I've been working with Sarah for a couple of months.  It started out her just sitting on the potty and me reading books to her.  She wouldn't go, but we kept it up daily. 

I can't do anything during the day since she's at MDO but she wakes up with a dry diaper, so I put her on the potty first thing in the morning.  I have her potty right by the toilet.  This may be gross, but I sit on the toilet and pee while she's right there.  Most of the time she will go when I go.  If not, we sit there and read a few books.  Once she goes, she starts clapping, so she knows what she is supposed to do.  She also will reach for the toilet paper and will mimic wiping. 

Also, about 20 minutes after dinner we'll go to the potty and read books.  90% of the time she'll poop in the potty. And will tell me yes or no when I ask her if she's done.

She can't tell me when she needs to go, but I'm thinking if we can get the morning and night time pottying going well that when she's a few months older she will.

I just don't want her to end up like my niece.  She's 3 1/2 and still not close to being potty trained.