Working Moms

Before school care for school aged kids?

I'm starting my job search for next fall (I'm a teacher) and I've been thinking about what I'm going to do for before school care for DD when she starts kindergarten in 2012. The daycare that she'll be at doesn't offer it. 

What do you do? Friend? Find another daycare? DS will be at the same DC and I hate the idea of having to make 2 stops. 

Mrs. 5/03*DD 2/07*DS1 5/09*DS2 7/12
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Before school care for school aged kids?

• The school I use to work at the teachers brought there kids with them and they hung out in there classroom. It was a very small school though. A

Does the school offer any before/after school program?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Our Elementary school starts at 8am but has a drop off at 730am for breakfast in the cafeteria.   DD goes to the cafeteria with her friends around 740am so we can be at work around 8am (MH takes the boys to daycare afterward).   

Our daycare also has a before school care starting at 6am but we don't use it.  We do use the afterschool care.   

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • My daycare has before school care. I have a friend though who's child stays with an elderly neighbor until the bus comes. I think she gives the neighbor a small amount like $40 or $50 a month.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • The district the kids will be in isn't hiring. That would be my (obvious) first choice. I'm looking at a nearly 40 min commute for the furthest school, so I don't know if that's too early for a before school program. I'll have to look into it.
    Mrs. 5/03*DD 2/07*DS1 5/09*DS2 7/12
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker