Trouble TTC
Options

PCOS Questions - Metformin & HSG

I am new to all this so please bear with me.  I have a few questions and I?m hoping you guys can help!

I have PCOS and have been working with my dr. about fertility issues.  Monday she put me on Metformin.  Can someone please explain Metformin to me?really why am I on it from a medical standpoint.  These are just some of my questions:

-is it just trying to get some of my crazy levels back to normal? 

-Is it going to help me actually get my period? 

-Before I went to my gynecologist, my regular family dr said she may put me on Metformin to help with fertility before trying Clomid, do you guys know if Metformin has any fertility impacts?) 

My mind was going so fast when I was at my appt that I didn?t get to ask all the questions I wanted to.  I feel stupid now for not asking but everything she was saying was a lot to take in and process and then ask questions.

Second, she wants me to have the HSG test.  They called to schedule it and said it has to be 7-10 days after the first day of your period.  That?s great but I rarely get my period anymore.  The scheduler talked to my dr. and she said I can wait 2 months to see if I get it on my own and if I don?t, she will give me a medicine to induce my period.  Or I can go ahead and take that medicine now so I get my period and we can get the test done.  I don?t know what the medicine is as I wasn?t talking directly to the dr on this.  Does anyone know anything about this?  We may go down the route of medicine right away to induce so we can keep moving on this process but I don?t want to take unnecessary risks.

I know I can call my dr. with all these questions but I also would appreciate any feedback from personal experiences.  Also you guys will probably respond back to me quicker than my dr will!  I hope this all makes sense!

Pregnancy Ticker

Re: PCOS Questions - Metformin & HSG

• Options