Breastfeeding

If you nurse AND pump, share your schedule!

I am confused about what I should be doing. I still give DS about 1 oz after every feeding (per LC instructions). I am also trying to build a freezer stash (I am a teacher). Should I pump after each feeding, or other times? I have been doing a mix of both pumping after feedings OR an hour after each feeding. Help? The most I get at one sitting is 5 oz (that is early morning pumping, I got 4 in the evening the other day because I was away from the baby and was engorged). I normally get anywhere from 1-2.5 per session.

Re: If you nurse AND pump, share your schedule!

• I pump in the morning after I feed him. He's the happiest then so he'll play on his activity mat. Then I pump around 9pm at night. I've done this for a month now and we had to get a deep freezer last weekend b/c our freezer is full. I am also a teacher. =)
  • The only time I find that I can reliably pump extra is in the morning, about an hour after I feed DS.  My supply really replenishes quickly in the morning.  Sometimes I would also pump after I fed him, if he didn't eat for very long or didn't eat both sides.  And occasionally, I'd pump just before I went to bed because that was his longest stretch sleeping.  I never get nearly as much at night.

Lilypie First Birthday tickers Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Loading the player...
  • I am not going to be any help, but I am also looking for a schedule/solution.  My DS is 5 weeks old and I haven't been "stashing" but want to start.  I just am not sure how since I feed on one side at a feeding.  I'm just afraid the other won't replenish fast enough for the next feeding since it's used to going longer.  Good luck...I'm a teacher too...I go back in January and wish I had started freezing more right away. 

Jen