Military Families
Options

Moving ?

Hi Ladies! I am new to all of this Army stuff so bear with me!

We have orders to Hawaii and have to be there May 16. My question is, Do we buy our plane tickets and get reimbursed? How about moving expenses? Do we have to pay to ship everything and get reimbursed? DH is currently in San Antonio at AIT so this will be our first move. TIA! 

Re: Moving ?

• Options

When I moved, we didn't pay for anything out of pocket. You still have a LOT of time to plan (I know it doesn't feel like it!) We had our tickets booked for us, and TMO should take care of moving all your household goods. As far as I know, they won't let you do a DITY (do it yourself, pay up front then get reimbursed) move for overseas, even if it's only to Hawaii.

Your DH should have a TMO briefing coming up very soon- bug him to take care of that, because that will relieve a lot of this stress for you!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    Thank you so much. He mentioned a that he had a briefing coming up. He just said that his Sargent told him that it would be DITY. Maybe he was just talking about the guys who aren't going overseas. You just took a lot of my stress away!
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    Yes TMO(the moving office) will take care of this.  He'll have to take in orders and setup dates but other than that easy.  If you want to get a head start on moving you can get a list of items they wont ship/move for you.  Yard sale/craigslist/goodwill stuff that you wont/dont need anymore because there is a weight limit.  Centralize all important documents(birth certificates,wedding certificate, insurance, etc).  Basically do little things to keep you from running around last minute.
  • Options

imagecalliem0213: