Military Families

unique taxes question

anyone file married jointly for federal and then married seperately for state? I know my state allows it, as long as I do it paper and not electronically, but man this is confusing! DH's income doesn't get state taxed, but mine does...right? So I'm very frustrated right now! And we already sent in and recieved our federal tax return, so we can't even change that to help!

Re: unique taxes question

• We did the exact same thing! DH and I are now both residents of Texas, well he always has been and I did when he was deployed. I was a Minnesota resident. I was so confused when we did our taxes, but got it figured out. We filed electronically on taxslayer.com and just selected "married filing joint" for federal and I went back in and filed "married filing seperatley" for my state taxes. You said you have to do it by paper though, which is trickier. Is there anyway you could be able to do it electronically?
  • imageikastuart:
    We did the exact same thing! DH and I are now both residents of Texas, well he always has been and I did when he was deployed. I was a Minnesota resident. I was so confused when we did our taxes, but got it figured out. We filed electronically on taxslayer.com and just selected "married filing joint" for federal and I went back in and filed "married filing seperatley" for my state taxes. You said you have to do it by paper though, which is trickier. Is there anyway you could be able to do it electronically?

I'm glad I'm not the only one!! This stuff is tricky, and I definitely didn't make millions last year. I guess I'll send it in with the best I can do and if it's wrong, I'm sure they'll correct me eventually!

• Loading the player...
  • Yes, DH and I do that (I'm also in CT - we're probably neighbors. ;)  haha  I think he's just planning to take his to someone to do in person since we couldn't do them (the state taxes) online without it saying we owed over $400.