New Jersey Babies

Teachers and FMLA

Does anyone know the details of the FMLA?  When do i have to file for FMLA?  How long does it last, etc?  Just curious if anyone has gone through this process already and how it turned out.  My sick days are just about finished and I am getting ready to apply for FMLA.  Thanks for any information and all of your help.
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Teachers and FMLA

• it's 6 weeks paid then 6 weeks unpaid.  I'm a teacher too and it worked out to be about 1/2 of what I would have made working in those 6 weeks.  You probably should have applied by now, call your HR dept and talk to them about it
    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers Teterboro 5K 7/16/11 23:22 Tenafly 5K 6/5/11 26:48 1st in age group and stroller division Teterboro 5K 7/17/10 24:42 Lincoln Tunnel 5K 4/25/10 28:18 4 1/2 weeks pp Teterboro Airport 5K 7/18/09 22:35 3rd place age group 4 1/2 weeks pregnant Long Branch 1/2 5/3/09 1:51:07 Lincoln Tunnel 5K 4/26/09 22:22 NJEA 5K 11/7/08 22:30 2nd place age group Westchester 1/2 10/12/08 1:50:16 Teterboro Airport 5K 7/19/08 23:43 Long Branch 1/2 5/4/08 1:54:18 Giant Stadium 5K 4/26/08 error in timing Hackensack 5K 10/14/07 23:55 1st place in age group
  • For me it worked like this - 

sick days

Federal Leave ( no pay)  I didn't fill out anything

NJ Family leave (6 paid, 6 unpaid) -   I filled out a portion and my school filled out a portion.  I faxed it to the state.

https://lwd.state.nj.us/labor/forms_pdfs/tdi/fl1.pdf

Lilypie First Birthday tickers

• Loading the player...
  • do you remember when you applied for it?
  • For the NJ Leave?    

You cannot send the paperwork in until your leave begins. Mine started early February so that's when I faxed it over.    I gave it to my work a few weeks before though.