D.C. Area Babies

WTH? Not sleeping?

DD is not sleeping.  At all. She takes maybe 1-2 catnaps during the day and doesn't fall asleep at night.  I can get her to nurse/half fall asleep for about 3 hours.  Any ideas?  I'm so tired

Re: WTH? Not sleeping?

• oh my god.  is this the 4 month wakeful stage i am hearing about?  scary as hell. 

they say this happens b/c she is now aware of her surroundings.  is she still in your co-sleeper?  check on lighting and ambient noise...we use a nightlight and a sound machine and it (seems) to be working for us.  who knows though.  i am preparing myself for the worst.

• My friend who just had a baby had a pediatrician tell her that around 3-4 months (and a couple of later points) babies go through a growth spurt and tend to sleep a lot less, but that it is temporary.  My friend found it true with her little one, but since I have no experience, cannot attest to the truth of it. 

As with everything for babies, stages are so temporary that this too shall pass!  Hang in there in the meantime.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Dear God, Sophie is doing the same thing.  I swear I haven't slept in a month.  She wants to nurse ALL NIGHT.  We usually end up on my bed, nursing laying down, with me dozing/sleeping.  I have tried everything.  I bought a sleep positioner for her crib, supplement, nightlight, white noise, she's not cold or hot, gah.  I think it's just for comfort b/c she's gaining weight like a champ and there's no way she's hungry.

But she naps at MIL's during the day, and I can't sleep at work.  So aggrivating.  She won't nap on the weekend unless we're in the car.

She used to take a paci to sleep, but now she screams at the sight of a paci.  She sttn from 1 month until about 3 1/2 months.  I am a zombie. 

Left HugLeft HugLeft Hug