1st Trimester

CT SCAN during pregnancy

I went into the emergency room on 02/11 with stomach pains. The doctors ordered a scan with contrast and an upper gi. They asked me if I was pregnant and I said I was not sure and that if I was it was very recent, since my last period was on 01/21 (which means I would have ovulated on about 02/05). After a pregnancy test, the results were negative. They did a stomach scan with contrast and an upper GI. Today, after realizing I am late, I took a home pregnancy test and its positive. I am worried about the radiation I was exposed to. My husband thinks I got pregnant after the 11th but I am not sure. Has this happened to anyone????

Re: CT SCAN during pregnancy

• I am no doctor but check with your doctor. I also think about our grandparents and how they used to xray the babies and people came out healthy (crazy huh) so stay hopeful and talk to your doctor.
  • There is quite a bit of raditaion having two studies like that (much more than in an xray).  However, being in that grey area where you there may have been implantation, but not enough hormones present to make a test read positive, leaves the ER to assume you aren't pregnant.  Most likely, everything is fine.  While it is not ideal, you likely didn't surpass the radiation level that would cause harm to the baby.  However, the baby's rapidly dividing cells are more sensitive to the effects of radiation the earlier you are, so I would mention this to your OB (although I'm not certain how this applies during the 2WW). I wouldn't worry about it too much at this point.  The fact that you have a positive pregnancy test probably means all if OK.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Pregnancy Ticker
  • Loading the player...