New Jersey Babies

When to tell my boss that I'm pregnant?

I am currently a non-tenured special education teacher in my 12th week of pregnancy. I am due at the end of August, so my leave would begin in September. I am trying to determine when I should tell my school that I am pregnant.

Part of me would like to wait until I find out if I've been hired back for my 3rd year, although that probably won't work because I will be 23 weeks pregnant by then.

I thought maybe I should wait until I've had my final observation of the year. It has been rumored that this particular observation plays a big role in determining if you will ultimately get tenure. However, this could happen anytime in the next three months.

Another part of me thinks I should just tell my administrators now, so they don't feel rushed when trying to find a maternity leave replacement for me.

I've been hurt in the past because I didn't know the politics of working in a school community, so I want to make sure that this time I take control of the situation. Any advice, especially from teachers and administrators would be greatly appreciated. Thank you. 

Re: When to tell my boss that I'm pregnant?

• The will probably look for your sub the same time they're looking for new teachers.  I thought final observations had to be done by March, atleast that is how it is in my school.  I would double check that, if they really do have another 3 months, then I would tell them soon, if it has to be done by March, I'd wait till you have your evaluation meeting.