Adoption
Options

Confused. So Sad, So Angry.

Background: We have been licensed for over a year.  Had two placements.  Our licensing worker is fully aware that I'm a Counselor in private practice working with foster kids. With that said, I am a child / adolescent therapist, 1/2 if not more, of my caseload are foster kids. I specialize in Play Therapy, I specialize in Attachment, I specialize in the major mental health diagnosis that other counselors won't touch with a 10 foot pole. So, I have a niche that is hard to find in our area...especially one that accepts medicaid. I get phone calls from caseworkers, foster parents, biological parents all-the-time at the office stating "we want the counselor who's a foster parent..."  Why? Because I understand the kids, I understand the foster parents fears, I understand the birth parents issues and I know how important it is to get reports to judges and caseworkers.

I love what I do.  Best job...ever.  Really, I love it. A caseworker called my office 4 weeks ago, says she has some birth parents she would like me to work with, to help them get reunited with their son who's in care. I said sure! She said a caveat is that I have to be "contracted" with their overall agency. No problem, I filled out their information and was approved immediately.  First session is supposed to be Wednesday.

I get a follow up email end of last week...stating that I can't be contracted with the agency since MY foster agency is affiliated with them.  WHAT? "affiliated"  I then got a call at the office TODAY from "someone" who claims to be over all the agencies upset with me, stating that I cannot be a foster parent and counsel foster kids and i needed to choose what was more important. It boiled down to a "conflict of interest"  When I tried to ask what kind of conflict of interest she wouldn't specify.