Blended Families

"Married, filing separately" question

I figured this was the board to go on to find people who were previously married. DH and I are going through a divorce, but won't be divorced until January.

If we file as married, filing separately for 2008, how does that work? Does the IRS wait until they receive both of our returns and then split it 50/50? I know I can Google (envisioning needle in a haystack), but I figured I'd rather talk to someone who has done it personally.

If you have any advice for me regarding the filing, let me know. Not sure what that would be, but I could overlook something since I'm not a tax expert. We have used Turbo Tax in the past. I'm not sure if it would be beneficial to have the taxes done by a professional this time. Neither of us really have the money for that.

Thanks!

Re: "Married, filing separately" question

• If people here don't know, I would post this on the Money Matters board on Monday.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I'll tell you what I did.  I was living separately from my ex and the divorce didn't go through for 2.5 years.  I filed Head of household since I had both children living with me.  If you have children together that's the best thing you can do.  IF you don't have children....I would file single.  IF I remember correctly as long as you separated within the tax year you get to file single.  It's not really about marital status it's about dependancy.

I'm not a tax accountant or preparer.  I would also spend the $$ and go to HR Block or whatever this year b/c of the life changes. 

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Loading the player...
  • Thanks. We separated about a month ago, and the kids live with me. I'll check into it. Good to know.