Military Families

Mommy Advice

I'm pregnant with our first baby and my husband is currently deployed. He will be back about 6 months after the baby is born. I know many other woman have experienced this and I was wondering if you all had any advice for me? I am not living near family so having someone watch the baby for a few minutes while I shower or nap isn't really an option.

So, what did you guys find the most helpful?

Re: Mommy Advice

• Find some good babysitters now.  Get recommendations from friends and neighbors, and make sure you have several so there are backups in place if you need them.  I would not have been able to survive for the last six months of DH's deployment (let alone the last 5 weeks with a preschooler and an infant) without my amazing childcare providers.
  • DH was deployed, I was a full time teacher, and DS was around a year old. No family in the area either. If you live near a base, check out what kinds of options they have for you in terms of childcare. Lots of times they have opportunities for families of the deployed to receive a few hours of free care a week. 

It's rough, for sure. Find babysitters. Ask your friends. You will want help at some point. I'd start looking right now. Good luck! 

Baby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...