Working Moms

Breakeven Costs? Working vs Stay at Home

Hi ladies!  This is my first time posting on this board.  I'm currently 11 weeks pregnant (due in July) and am struggling with the decision on returning to work vs staying home, primarily due to the high daycare costs where I live and work (downtown Boston).  To give some specific numbers, total costs for childcare and parking would be about $3,100 per month.  My monthly take home pay is about $3,500.  I historically get a large cash bonus at the year end ($30-40,000) but it is not guaranteed in any way, shape, or form. 

I'm wondering how everyone decided to go back to work - if there was a certain amount that you would have to make, if you didn't want to stay home and wanted to work full time, fear of being out of the workforce for a few years, or something different.  I know it's a personal decision, I'm just really struggling with the idea of putting my child in day care full time and only taking home $400 a month. 

Any thoughts would be much appreciated!

Re: Breakeven Costs? Working vs Stay at Home

• It was not an easy decision for me.  In my heart, I really wanted to stay home.  I love my work, but I think I could have been very happy as a SAHM.  I decided to go back because I like the security of knowing I can earn a living if something ever happened to dh.  I grew up with a single mom and I don't ever want to have to struggle like she did.

Working PT, we only net $1000 after daycare, but my earning potential will increase.  I am a lawyer and changed practice areas.  As I become more established in this new area, my salary will grow.  It has already grown since I returned from maternity leave.

Also, while I thought I would enjoy being a SAHM while LO was an infant/toddler, I was worried about needing something of my own once he reached school age.  The thought of leaving the workforce entirely and then trying to re-enter seemed scary.

But still, $1000 isn't a lot to net after daycare...