High-Risk Pregnancy

Bed rest mommas - if you work question about leave

Hi,

My doctor told me that I may be parked in the hospital at 24 weeks and full bed rest.  However, I can do my job from the computer at the hospital but my company is not being fully accommodating.  For all the mommies that are on bed rest - are you on FMLA or on disability?  What are the laws and what can a company make you do?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Pregnancy Ticker BabyName Ticker

Re: Bed rest mommas - if you work question about leave

• I've been on strict bedrest (at home) since 20 weeks.  I'm an attorney, and while I can technically do most of my work from my laptop remotely, after one day of trying I discovered that it's very difficult to do so when laying down (which I'm required to do), so I opted to go out on full medical leave rather than try to work remotely.  I am on short-term disabililty, which is fully paid and runs concurrently with my FMLA leave (16 weeks in DC).  My doctors had to fill out some paperwork saying I was unable to perform the functions of my job, but in general it was pretty easy.

I'm not an employment lawyer, so I'm not sure what exactly a company can make you do, but I beleive they have a duty to try to accomodate your disability restrictions under the ADA as long as they are reasonable.  Also, as long as you have been at your company for a year and they employ at least 50 people, you are entitled to take at least 12 weeks of FMLA leave, which is unpaid but they have to protect your job and benefits while you're out.  Have you talked to your HR department, rather than your supervisor?  They can probably give you the best information on what's available to you.  Your supervisor may not know or may be more focused on how work will get done in your absence than on what your options/rights are. 

Good luck!

Lilypie Second Birthday tickers