North Carolina Babies
Options

Anyone have a good sugar cookie recipe?

I need (want) a recipe for good, soft, sugar cookies. All the ones I've ever made have come out hard. Maybe it's the pan I use (or my lack of skills? LOL) I'm not an expert baker (obviously), so it needs to be easy. I want it to be the kind you roll out, and cut with cookie cutters, not dough that you spoon out. Have any good recipes, and/or bakeware recs?

I'd like to make cookies with Holly this year, and want to make sugar & gingerbread ones. TIA!

photo c107d4aa-9909-4a33-b3bd-bd94168bd5fc.jpg

Re: Anyone have a good sugar cookie recipe?

• Options

I haven't actually tried it, but the reviews from people said these were soft and chewy....Plus, how can Alton Brown be wrong about making sugar cookies?

https://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/sugar-cookies-recipe/index.html

• Options

To solve the "hard" problem, try taking them out of the oven before they're done, letting them continue cooking for two minues on the hot pan, then moving them to racks to cool completely. I hate hard cookies in general, so I always do this when I make any cookie and it works like a charm to keep them soft.

(But, if you've tried that and still aren't getting soft cookies, I'm out of suggestions!  Smile  )

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I have one that I got from MereD last year.  I'll post it tonight since it's on my gmail acct and I can't access it from work.  It was super easy and the cookies were yummy! 
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • Options

Sugar Cookies
     Ingredients

1 1/2 cups butter, softened
    2 cups white sugar
    4 eggs
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    5 cups all-purpose flour
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    1 teaspoon salt
    Directions-