Military Families
Options

Military not paying up

My DH went into the AF Reserves almost 2 years ago and we are still waiting on his signing bonus to start.  He signed up for a job that was paying a good signing bonus and it was something he had done in the Navy so sort of a no brainer.  It took over a year for the AF to send him to tech school which is why we were told we hadn't seen the start of the bonus.  He's been back over 6 months now and still nothing.  His unit can't tell him anything more than all the codes are correct in the system.  I think they are trying to keep from paying up.  Has anyone else encountered a similar problem with getting a signing bonus?  How was/has it been resolved?

TIA

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

imageimageimage

Re: Military not paying up

• Options
    You could try contacting the IG.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    Check with his personnelist for his unit. I worked in finance AD and anytime someone came in with bonus issues, we always had to refer the to personnel because they hadn't loaded the payment information into the system for us to release.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

I think he needs to read over his paperwork again.  Not all bonuses are paid right away.  My bonus was paid out in sections.  The first payment came about 6 months after I finished school.  The second payment came at my two year mark and the final payment came at my 4 yr mark. 

One of my Privates didn't realize his had been put into his contract in a similar payment schedule.  He only cared that the bonus was $10k.  He came in raising hell every month.  I had him bring in his paperwork and pointed out the pay schedule to him.  Look into it. 

• Options
    imageagis:

Look through all the paperwork to see if there is a time given for when the bonus should be received.  Also, i would definitely talk to an attorney (military or civilian) if you think there is a breach of contract.