Special Needs
Options

Floortime vs. ABA - what if your child is not reward driven?

I admit - I am fairly new to the whole ASD circle.

I recently watched "autistic-like" documentary - and it got be thinking.  Actually got me thinking about things I had already been thinking about.

My son is in a full time ABA pre-school program - and yes it is wonderful for him.

Here are my concerns:

Brady (my son) is not terribly "reward" driven.  I see all these kids doign things for an m&m or a sticker, and that just isn't brady.  he's just not motivated by rewards (and I wonder if thats part of our poor parenting, but I digress)

as further aside this has made potty training even more difficult, but again...back to the point of my post.

I know that "rewards" is a key component to ABA. and yes, my son (he is primarly speech delayed - and I question his auditory processing most of all) has improved - obviously somethign is working.

I actually am going to pick up greenspan's book -- and look at the floor time model - from my limited understanding its seems like it just means getting into the child's world ("getting on the floor") and interacting with him.  I am sure there is more to it -- but I am thinking maybe this.  I guess I will find out.

any comments or experience would be appreciated.

ok - back to my hellish job...thanks all :)

Re: Floortime vs. ABA - what if your child is not reward driven?

• Options
    Christopher made more gains with floortime at first than with ABA.  There are different rewards that the school has used with him as far as the ABA is concerned.  He gets playtime, social time more than food and trinkets.
  • Options