Working Moms

Student mothers?

Any mothers/future mother's that are juggling with being a university student and family life? I'm a second year medical student with a 2 and half year old and TTC our second. Most people think we're crazy, and although most of the time our life is very hectic, we love it :)

Re: Student mothers?

• Me! I'm a PhD student, full-time university employee, and about 30 days away from giving birth to my first. People tell me I'm crazy all the time, but I really, really think I can juggle all of these things. (Shameless plug, but that's what I blog about, if you're interested. I love to discuss some of the issues that come up with balancing all of these different (and intersecting) roles).
  • I am finishing my last semester of law school.  I think the school schedule is more flexible than my work schedule will be, so it has worked out.  
  • Loading the player...
  • Me! I am finishing up my last year for a Biology degree and juggling with taking care of a premature baby and all his developmental delays and concerns. It is tough, but I would never trade my life for anything!

Lilypie First Birthday tickersLilypie Kids Birthday tickers

• Me! I have a 4month old son and I go to school full time and work full time as well. It's not easy but I have a wonderful DH who makes it workable! We're young, we can do it! Don't let anyone tell you anything different!
  • There is a blog written by several different physician (and medical student) mothers: Mothers in Medicine (google it).  You might find some of their posts helpful.

I had a baby during my last year of residency.  Several women in my medical school class had babies during 4th year. 

Good luck!  

DS born 8/8/09 and DD born 6/12/12.