3rd Trimester

Labor & delivery with a piercing...

I am 34 weeks, due in 6.

I have a hood piercing and when I asked my doc about it he said I should consider taking it out once I go into labor. I would prefer not to unless doing so is the wiser choice.

I am hoping to hear from those who have gone through delivery and also have a hood piercing... what did you do?

Thanks!! =)

Re: Labor & delivery with a piercing...

• Um...if your doc said you should take it out, maybe you should just take it out? I'd be afraid of it like ripping off or something haha. Can you not put it back in?
    A woman's life is nine parts mess to one part magic, you'll learn that soon enough...and the parts that look like magic turn out to be the messiest of all.
  • NSLNSL member
    Erm, yes, you should listen to your doctor and take it out.
  • Loading the player...
  • As a nurse, I would recommend taking it out. If you have to have an emergency c-section, you cannot have any metal piercings in (we use an electrical cautery machine to stop bleeding and if you have metal, it conducts electricity and can cause a burn where the piercing. Also, if you swell a good amount, it may not be comfortable to have a piercing in...(where is a "hood" piercing by the way?)
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I'm sure there will be enough ripping and tearing without worrying about vagina accessories....
  • imageJLSmith124:
    As a nurse, I would recommend taking it out. If you have to have an emergency c-section, you cannot have any metal piercings in (we use an electrical cautery machine to stop bleeding and if you have metal, it conducts electricity and can cause a burn where the piercing. Also, if you swell a good amount, it may not be comfortable to have a piercing in...(where is a "hood" piercing by the way?)

On the hood of the clittoris.

~ Mrs. G
  • I am irrationally annoyed by this question.

lol