Babies: 3 - 6 Months

upset at friends comment

I have two kids a two year old and a 4 month old.  I am going back to work in two weeks and very emotional and upset about it.  I would rather stay home.  I am a teacher, so it makes it a little easier with hours and time off during the summer.  So anyway, I was talking to a friend and she said, it is really a shame you can't stay home and raise your kids.  She is a SAHM and refuses to get a job even though her husband and her could use more money.  Anyway this comment has been bothering me. Maybe I am just being emotional!   Would you be upset?  By the way we have my MIL watching the kids.  

Re: upset at friends comment

• It sounds like she was commiserating with you, how is that hurtful?  FWIW I mostly SAH as well (work every other weekend) even though we "could use more money"  Everyone makes their own choices for their own reasons, I doubt she was judging you if that's what you're thinking.  Maybe she wishes you could stay home so she'd have a SAH friend.
    Lilypie Third Birthday tickers
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers

• Ignore it.  Being a teacher is pretty selfless.  Maybe she is jealous.

Baby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Loading the player...
  • Well it is a shame that you can't do what you want, which is stay home. You say she refuses to work, but she has decided that being home is best for their family. Maybe you are upset because you really wish you could do the same?
    My big boy image Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie Pregnancy tickers