1st Trimester
Options

Teacher, Pregnant, & Not Married...advice please!

This is my first post. I just took a pregnancy test this morning and still in shock that I am pregnant.  My boyfriend and I have been dating for a little over 4 years and are planning on getting married.  As far as I am concerned, I want to get married ASAP so that I can focus on baby. 

My biggest concern?  How do I tell people that I am not married and pregnant?  I think if I was in any other profession, no big deal.  I am 31 years old and I needed to "get the ball rolling" before my little ovaries dried up.  But I am a teacher and I don't know how to go about it.  Anyone else been in the same situation?  Any school-age parents out there that can give me your opinion on the situation?  I teach 2nd and 3rd grade.  Thanks! 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Teacher, Pregnant, & Not Married...advice please!

• Options

Yikes. I guess it depends on your school district, public/private, etc.

Private schools (esp. religious ones) can fire a single teacher for becoming pregnant. It is legal, because often it is written in their contract.

Public school you should be fine, but depending on the "tone" of your district you may get some unhappy parents wanting their kids out of your class, etc.  

• Options
    Do you have tenure?  If so there isn't anything your school can do (if you work for a public school).  You aren't going to change anyones opinion of your situation.  I got my degree in December and hoped to get a job this year but am engaged and PG.  Jobs were hard to find anyway this year so I wasn't surprised to not get a job.  I would just focus on doing the best job you can do, and it if it is really going to bother you then maybe you should go ahead and get married.
  • Loading the player...
  • Options