December 2010 Moms
Options

TaTa pump stress!

OMG If I change my registry one more time!  I keep going back and forth between the Medela Swing single breast pump or the Lansinoh double electric pump. 

Here's my problem: Medela is the brand everyone raves about so I lean towards that but I can only afford a single pump if I go that route.  I've heard a little about the Lansinoh but in general Medela is the brand everyone talks about but if I go Lansinoh I can get the double pump. 

Lots of people are telling me it's important to have a double pump but does it really make that much difference?   I'm a first time mom and of course all the ladies I can ask either have the high end $300 plus Medela or had kids 30yrs ago and used a manual pump.  ACK!

Input please I'm begging here. Confused

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: TaTa pump stress!

• Options

I can't offer any concrete advice, since I've never used a breast pump before, but I do hear that having a double electric is worth it if you are going back to work.  Think about what you're going to use it for.  If you're going to be a SAHM, the single one may be fine, since you'll probably need to use it less.

FWIW, I'm getting the Lansinoh Affinity (double electric), and I hear nothing but good things about it.  I'm lucky enough to have a friend who is studying to be a lactation consultant, and she ended up with a free one that she is sending me!

A couple of other options... some insurers will pay for a breast pump after the baby is born, or offer reduced pricing on them, so maybe check that out.  Also, I've heard some people find it useful to rent a pump at first to see if they really need a double electric, and then buy one later.  GL!

norathe girlsamelia
     Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options