Stay at Home Moms
Options

The Great Divide?

Do you ever feel like the relationship between some of your WM friends and you have taken a toll since you SAH?  I guess my question is-  Do you ever feel like there is a separation between you and your WM friends?  Do you feel like they have dropped you like a hot potato because you SAH?
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: The Great Divide?

• Options
    Yes, but most friends I made while working were not people I hung out with outside of work much anyway.  I do get the occasional invite to meet some of them for lunch but it's about a half hour drive and a totally different experience trying to have an adult lunch with people who are child-less and don't get it.  I'd say a lot of it was my fault more than theirs just on the fact that I didn't keep up my end of trying to keep contact going.
  • Options

I'm going through this right now, as before I was a teacher. (this past June) And all summer they had "time" for me or were communicating with me. Now they are back to work and I feel a bit dropped. I know how crazy the beginning of the school year feels, but yesterday I my facebook status was:

Good luck to my former colleagues with your first day back with the kiddos! I'll be thinking of you today!

Responses:

Yea right

Ditto that

and:  I know you're trying to be nice, but shut up

Um ?!?????????????? really?????? You don't think that a) I might miss teaching, b) I didn't him/haw over this decision to give up my career and be a SAHM?  Really?  

So I'm taking a break from FB for a few days and just hanging out on my mom group board. I'll return to FB and chatting with my working friends when the beginning of the school year dust settles. Otherwise I'm going to feel left out or get my feelings hurt. 

• Loading the player...
  • Options