Single Parents

Hello. I'm new to this.

Here is a post with my background.

https://community.thebump.com/cs/ks/forums/thread/41516229.aspx 

And I'd like to ask for some advice if you ladies don't mind. I have decided to email the father today and let him know what it going on. I was orginally going to wait until 8 weeks, but it's stressing me out so much that I just can't keep it from him any longer. I'm going to email him but I just have no idea what to say... TIA

Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Hello. I'm new to this.

• Honestly, I would wait. Go to an OB appointment first. See a heartbeat. The chances of a chemical pregnancy or miscarriage are pretty high (not that I'm wishing that on you - just a fact!). Good luck!

imageimage

TheseFourButton-1.png

• Okay I read you whole last post. 

First things first, are you going to keep the baby?  You still have options open to you.  You could give the baby up for adoption.  I have the feeling that you want to keep the baby.  Then once you've weighed all the options and you feel at peace with your decision you go to your parents/family and just say this is what's going on and this is my decision.

You're not 16 and coming home w/ a baby.  You're an adult woman you knew the outcome of sex and and the various risks involved.  You stand firm in your decision and everyone will follow your lead.

2nd the father.  Not only should he know you should file for child support.  because he is also an adult knows the risks and outcomes of sex and is an equal partner in creating this life.  Will you have to go through a paternity test, sure; but that's not really a big deal.  He may or may not want a relationship with the child that is usually handled separately from child support and just because you recieve or file for CS doesn't mean he automatically gets visitation.