Special Needs
Options

warning...glass half empty VENT

So I've been feeling.....resentful, jealous, angry, frustrated, annoyed.....you get the pic....

I'm just going through a phase I think. DS is doing really well.  He is generally healthy, but his developmental delays (Ds) are really bringing me down.  He is growing into his brothers hand-me-downs, and I am remembering DS#1 running around in these clothes, and DS #2 is not even sitting on his own yet.  I know he'll get there, but it's just really getting to me. 

I want to say to every parent of a typical infant, "do you know how lucky you are to not have to deal with a child w/ a disability?  Not to have to think about all the extra 'stuff' that I have to think about?"  I know that won't make anything better, but that's just where I am. 

We had a long summer (I'm a teacher) of dr's appt's and ongoing therapies, which really wore me out.  I go back to school today, and there are 5 other mom's coming off maternity leave as well.  I am not looking forward to hearing about all the things those babies can do, that my little man can't.  Again, I know we'll get there, I just wish...well, I really don't even know what I wish.....
THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!

Re: warning...glass half empty VENT

• Options

I just wanted to say HUGS.

imageimage
    Max 4-08-08 and Michael 2-03-91 (19 years olds)
    image Both boys were born w/ hirschsprung's disease, you find yourself facing this dx, please feel free to ask me any questions.
  • Options
    I know the feeling well... I try my damndest to stay positive, but some days it just gets overwhelming... hope you find your way to other side soon.
    A sister is a little bit of childhood that can never be lost. ~Marion C. Garrett
    image7_0002 A ~ 2.7.06 S ~ 9.2.07
  • Loading the player...
  • Options