Military Families

what do you wish your spouse's organization did for you?

Hi everyone,

We recently PCS'd and suddenly I'm the wife of the senior military member in a small geographically separated organization.  Yikes.

So, I'm sure there are some things that I should be taking care of as far as the other spouses go, since everyone else is in Alabama and we're in Massachusetts, but I'm pretty new at this whole military spouse thing and I really don't know what that would be!  We didn't really have a close-knit organization at our last base, so we were on our own and it was hard, especially with a new baby and no family.  I don't want to be in everyone's business, but I don't want to wait until there's some kind of crisis to get to know everyone and offer any support they might need. 

Any ideas?  What do you wish your spouse's supervisor's spouse (say that ten times fast) did for you?  What would be fun, what would be super annoying, what would be a good idea in general?

Thanks!

Re: what do you wish your spouse's organization did for you?

• I wouldn't mind having a spouses dinner/lunch.  it would be nice to get to know the other spouses of the group.  I know DH has people from his shop call but it would be nice if it was a spouse who knew what it was like "being on this side."   We are not a close knit group but it would be nice to have a few friends. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • When DH's new boss PCS'd here, his wife held a lunch/pool party at her house for all the wives/kids so she could meet everyone. We frequently have get togethers on the weekends at peoples houses for the wives, and I know that lots of the moms always do playdates.
  • Loading the player...