Oregon Babies

Cloth vs. Disposable?

I know it's slightly early for me to be thinking about diapers. But I'm a planner. I keep hearing about local (Beaverton/Portland) cloth diaper services and I was wondering if anyone had used them? I know it's better for the environment, and I've heard that the cost is about the same as disposable.

Any thoughts?

imageBaby Birthday Ticker TickerBabyFruit Ticker

Re: Cloth vs. Disposable?

• I'm no expert...but from what I've heard, cloth is only cheaper and better for the environment if you wash them yourself.  Everyone that I know that uses cloth likes the Bum Genius diapers.

If you use a service(like Tidee Didee), it's just as expensive as disposables, and the fumes, etc are not good for the environment.

Check out The Eco-Friendly Family board, they are full of info!

Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • I use bum genius and love them. Super easy. I don't use a diaper service though. It's so easy to wash them myself and much cheaper. They are kinda bulky though.
  • Loading the player...
  • I have known several people who used Tidee Didee and were very, very happy with the service. But pp are right that diaper service isn't cheap. Their rates are on their website, but if memory serves me right, I think it was $20/wk when I looked into it, which is $80 month. I actually don't know what people spend on disposables per month, so I can't say how it compares.

But we use and wash our own cloth diapers. I don't spend anywhere near $80/mo averaging out our money spent on diapers over two years and estimating the increase in our water and heating bills. When I did the numbers a while ago, I think it was about $35/mo.