North Florida Babies

Need advice from Jacksonville/St. Augustine moms

Hi everyone.  My husband just accepted a job in Jacksonville, which we know nothing about.  We will be moving from the Tampa Bay area.  I'm looking for advice (I trust other moms) on what areas would be best to find a place to live.  We will be renting at first.  I have 4 children.  I feel overwhelmed because Jacksonville is HUGE.  I have visited St. Augustine several times when I was a 4th grade teacher for our yearly field trip and really loved the area.  I have never been to Jacksonville.  Do you recommend the St. Augustine area or are there areas of Jacksonville that would be great for families??  His job starts in a month.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated! 

Re: Need advice from Jacksonville/St. Augustine moms

• St. Augustine has one of the the best school systems in Florida, so I'd definitely look there.  There are also a lot of family friendly things to do.

I'd stay away from Duval County schools - they're not great.  If you decide to live in Jax though, I'd research the schools in the area, it can totally be hit or miss. The one thing I didn't like about living in Jax (I lived off of Hodges, between Beach and Atlantic) was the traffic - it would take me forever just to go to the grocery store, I hated it.  It was super convenient to literally everything though, as long as you didn't want to go during rush hour :)

We live just south of Jax, in Fleming Island, and I love it.  My office is downtown and it takes me about 35 minutes (in traffic) to get there.  DH works off of Gate Pkwy and it takes him about 20 minutes (he goes in early though and has no traffic).  The schools out here are wonderful.

Any idea where your husbands office is?

imageimage
    imageimage