Special Needs

Hearing loss? Need some guidance...am I in denial

I haven't been on here in so long...but I need some guidance.  We have been dealing with the diagnosis of my 11 month old---Moderate hearing loss in both ears for some time....Here is the problem, I truly do not think that he has a loss, he hears everything (except for maybe whispers).  I am trying to decide if it this is such a detriment to his life?

If he were born before 2007, we would never know that he has a loss, simply because he is ahead of the curve regarding his milestones (sounds, waves, points etc)...so what to do...Is technology too good?  I would love to talk to anyone who has a hard of hearing baby.

Re: Hearing loss? Need some guidance...am I in denial

• I'm lurking around on the nest and came across your post.  I am a teacher of the hearing impaired and it is really important that you take care of the hearing loss now rather than later.  The first couple years of life are when babies develop speech and language.  Your LO may be missing out on specific sounds which in turn will cause him to have speech issues because he can't hear how to correctly pronounce them.  OR depending on the loss he may not even hear certain sounds so words will sound broken.  I know this is soooo scary but have you looked into cochlear implants?  You can email me if you want to talk more :)  I hope this helps :)  GL! 
  • Oh and I forgot to mention...your DS is ADORABLE :)
  • Loading the player...
  • I sent you my email address, I would like to take you up on your offer :_)