Military Families

Another Annoying PCS ?

I posted this on MN too, but I am over here more.

My DH is Amry National Guard. He will be going to flight school in early october after he completes his state WOCS. We are planning on moving with him. We still don't have orders. Is this normal? I am concerned mostly because he has his field training in september and will be gone most of the month. I have never done a PCS before since we are NG and really don't want to have to figure it all out myself before we move. I have also heard horror stories about orders not being written correctly and not allowing family to move with the soldier.I don't want to quit my job if this move is not going to happen but with a baby and me working 2nd shift it would make field training so much easier. Am I crazy stressing myself out about this now?

imageimage

Re: Another Annoying PCS ?

• I don't know about not allowing family to go but I know about waiting until the last minute for orders. Unfortunately it can be normal. We know we are going to CA. DH was told today that it would be a July depart with an August report but they don't know when the orders will be issued. So, we are sitting in a hotel (had to move out of the rental house) waiting for the orders to come through.
  • Don't stress too much. He's not going to get orders for flight school until he's eligible for flight school, meaning he passed WOCS. and don't worry about not being able to go with him. It's a PCS so you absolutely are able to go with him. 
  • Loading the player...