Pregnant after 35
Options

Newbie Here

Probably should have titled the post "Newbie and a Skeptic Here".  I'm a smidge over 5 weeks, 38 years old, and lurking this week on various community boards has made me feel like the jaded *old* skeptic I am.  We are not telling anyone anything till end of the first trimester (even my mother), Other than a bit of the bloat, I have no real symptoms to speak of.  I have no designs on maternity clothes until I am lucky enough to have it be absolutley necessary, we have not talked about names or all the other stuff that women seem to do so early these days if these boards are on track with the general pregnant populace.  It just all seems waaaay too early for that.  (This board seems a bit more reality-based -- hooray for the sage wisdom that comes with AMA).

Perhaps is it because I used to be an NICU nurse and attended hundreds of deliveries (and extreme preterm births) that I am focused on the risks and the statistics at this point, and know that there are no assurances much less this early in the game.  Perhaps it is because my friends went through this so many years ago I cannot even recall the happier facts.  Whatever the case may be, seeing the upbeat posts from women who have the optimism to have named their 4 week pregnancy and are shopping for maternity clothes before even having an ultrasound make me feel weird.  Am I a Killjoy?  Or, perhaps, the Pregnancy Grinch?

I'll take my cranky old slightly pregnant self back to work now.  Look forward (if all goes well) to getting to know you all.  Best of luck for healthy pregnancies - and hopefully more enjoyment that I've been able to muster thus far.

BFP #1 5/2010 - Missed m/c at 8 weeks
BFP #2 2/2011
Baby G welcomed with love and relief 10/2011
Surprise BFP 1/8/2013...say what? Baby A arrived 9/2013

Motherhood is not for wimps

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: Newbie Here

• Options