South Carolina Babies
Options

Henna artwork on pregnant bellies... (safe)

Hello all!

My name is Heathereena; I am new to the site and live in the Columbia area.  I have recently started TTC, and have started a personal blog here.  I invite you to check it out.

I am a henna artist in my spare time, and was wondering if anyone would like to get together for a free henna party.  I've been wanting to decorate a pregnant belly for years now.  Hopefully I'll get to do my own soon!

In case you're not familiar with henna, it is a natural paste made from non-toxic plant leaves that can be used to temporarily tattoo skin reddish-brown.  The "tattoos" last from 1-3 weeks and disappear as you exfoliate.  It can be used in conjunction with face painting materials and techniques.  I would be happy to send or post more details if anyone wants to hear more about it.

Please let me know if you're interested and we'll set something up!

Best wishes,

Re: Henna artwork on pregnant bellies... (safe)

• Options

I'm not in Columbia but we recently have a "henna void" here in the upstate.  Our one and only belly artist left town. 

I love henna feet and bellies!  Our artist promoted her work by doing free samples on hands at birthy events, birth centers, acupuncture/massage clinics, etc.

Good luck with your art! 

• Options

It's always great to meet henna fans!  Thanks for your reply.

I'd like to add a few things for my Carolina Girls.  First, I would be willing to travel just about anywhere within a 2-3 hour radius of Columbia to throw a henna party.  If you can get enough people (or skin) :) together to make it worth the travel time, email me at hdluttrell@yahoo.com and we can set something up.  I am especially interested in decorating mommy-to-be bellies, but I love doing henna all over.  I love it so much I am willing to do it for FREE!  Of course, donations to cover some of the gas would be welcomed but not required.