Toddlers: 24 Months+

Milk and ear infections

Has anyone taken their child off of milk/dairy because of recurrent ear infections? I am getting mixed ideas on whether the milk is exacerbating Lily's ear infection situation (11 in 10.5 months). Her doctor says milk isn't any issue, but everyone I know who is more alternatively minded (including a friend who is an accupuncturist) insist otherwise.

I am just looking for any personal experiences. Lily LOVES her milk so it would be a major, major thing to take it away.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Milk and ear infections

• I have no experience & am not a dietitian, but from my reading, I would say dairy in general can trigger/worsen ear infections.  However, dairy can cause many issues, which is just one of the reasons why DD & I are vegan.
  • Coming off dairy didn't help our situation.  I was on a strict dairy free diet while bfing DS when he was younger (and he had no dairy either) because he seemed to have gas/fussiness problems when I was consuming dairy (DH is actually casein intolerant).  He went to daycare at 6 months and had 5 infections within 5 months.  After the tubes went in at 11 months--no problems at all--1 infection in the year since they've been in.  DS started drinking vanilla soy milk just shortly after the tubes went in.  He eats some dairy now with limited problems but still drinks just vanilla soy.

I have heard about the dairy link with the ear infections.  If you really want to try to avoid the tubes, then avoiding dairy for awhile can't hurt.  I'd slowly transition the real milk to soy (a little in the cup mixed together, gradually increasing) and see what happens.

I will say, however, that tubes were the best thing we could do for DS.  When we had a hearing test done prior to the tubes, he was already showing some hearing loss due to the fluid behind the ear and it could have affected his speech learning.  We caught it in time.

• Loading the player...