South Florida Babies
Options

Teachers, please come in

I'm contimplating a career change.  With the kiddies coming, I'm starting to become heartbroken about not being with them ALL the time.  I've always wanted to be a teacher, but wasn't allowed to study Education.  So, I've made a proposition to Dh - I stay home w/ babies when they arrive, and get my teacher's certification during spring/summer so I can begin teaching come next Fall.  Plus, if I get a job in a great private school (ie, Gulliver) then kids can go to school for FREE, so that is a huge thing, which I think is really selling him on the idea.

The topic is on the table, and no decisions have been made either way but I want to gather some information in the meantime. 

I have my Bachelors and Masters degrees in Accounting.  What would I need to be able to teach?  Is it a certificate?  Is there any classes that need to be taken, or just a state exam?  Is the certificate subject specific?  How about admin jobs?  Does private and public schools have different requirements for teachers?

THANKS!

-- Jackie
"If we couldn't laugh we would all go insane" -- Jimmy Buffett Lilypie Second Birthday tickers

Re: Teachers, please come in

• Options

My undergrad was in Business and I got certified to teach elementary.  I was a TA while doing my undergrad so it helped me get experience and complete my certification process.  At the time, there was a shortage of teachers, so I basically passed the exams and got the certificate.  However, I think they are a little stricter on the coursework required to obtain the certificate now.  The coursework depends on what you want to teach.  For you, it would probably be easiest to get into teaching math/business at the middle/high school level.  But, if you want to do elementary, it is still possible.