Military Families

MTF OB experiences?

I've been lurking around the 1st trimester and January 2011 moms boards and I keep seeing all of these people complain about their OBs and/or OB/widwife searches (oh, and complaints about not having many options with insurance).  I always want to respond with something like "at least you have SOME choices!"  But, I really don't want to complain because I've got nothing against Tricare and I'm just grateful to have insurance.  I don't have my first real appointment until the beginning of July so I have no experience with our MTF's OBGYN program other than an orientation, lab work, and quick conversation with a nurse.

Anywho, for those of you who received prenatal care and/or delivered at a MTF I'm curious what your experiences have been like. 

Re: MTF OB experiences?

• You don't want to know... really, you dont.
  • i heard so many things about the MTF near me (supposedly one of the best in the country) that i switched from tricare prime to standard... and i dont have to pay anything because regardless maternity care is free... so if you are super concerned about it there is that option

and also before i made that leap i went onto some of the facebook groups for our post and found discussion threads about delivering there and saw too much bad and not enough good. so my decision was made.

• Loading the player...
  • imagekrista613:
    i heard so many things about the MTF near me (supposedly one of the best in the country) that i switched from tricare prime to standard... and i dont have to pay anything because regardless maternity care is free... so if you are super concerned about it there is that option