2nd Trimester

Hmmm...should I tell?

So I've been working with this sweet girl who's having a housewarming party today, and I'm completely excited to go. The problem is, I'm a contractor for her company, and I found out yesterday some of the other people from this client will be there too. I'm not sure if it'd be appropriate/professional to tell everyone at the party or wait until I have a formal meeting with them in the office.

The deal is, I only meet with these people face-to-face about once or twice a month, and I haven't said anything yet b/c I wasn't really showing until this week. It's kind of hard to hide it now, though. Thoughts?

He's growing up, but he'll always be my baby!

Nathan--11/4/10

...big brother to...???? Due March 2014!

Re: Hmmm...should I tell?

• I am also a freelance contractor who sees my colleagues only every few months. I told the people I was working with directly that I was pregnant as soon as I passed into the viability/2nd tri stage and once it became clear we were going to have to work out dates due to the birth and "Maternity leave" (I'm freelance so the term doesn't really apply.) But there was no formal kind of "attention everyone, I'm pregnant!" announcement. It was just something that would come up in conversation when I did see them face to face.

I'd play it by ear. Maybe try to get the host alone at some point and tell her first, but don't talk about it unless it comes up, which it's more likely and appropriate to do in a social situation than in a formal office meeting. For instance, I was at a cocktail party with some colleagues a few weeks ago and one was discussing her child and strollers and I was very interested and asked for recommendations because I was expecting.