Natural Birth

Bradley, HypnoBirthing, HypnoBabies...

So I was originally planning on going to the Bradley & HypnoBirthing classes.  From reading through this board, it seems that it may be better to just pick one or the other.  

Also, I hadn't previously heard of HypnoBabies, but it does seem that some people like it much better than HypnoBirthing.  

Is doing more than one class over-kill? 

Re: Bradley, HypnoBirthing, HypnoBabies...

• i have no experience with bradley.

i got marie mongan's hypnobirthing book from the library because it was free to see if it was something i'd be interested in.  it comes with one CD.  i liked it, but didn't feel it was enough, so i paid for the hypnobabies home course.  it comes with a bunch of CDs and you build up your "skills" and practice different things.  i really like it.

my course says not to do bradley with hypnobabies, the creator of HB used to be a bradley instructor and put relevant L&D/background info in the book.  HB is more of an untraining of your mind, getting rid of previous biases and thoughts about childbirth and it uses different terminology, such as "pressure waves" instead of "contraction" and "guess date" instead of due date, etc.  The idea is to make it less medical and more natural and i can see how the two methods might conflict for some people.   instead of getting caught up in different stages of labor and counting breaths and things, you're supposed to relax and have confidence that your body will know what to do. 

I think if your husband wants a more active role bradley might be a better choice for some, but that's not the case for me:)

• I would do one method and stick with it.  We chose bradley, and being a 12 week course I wouldn't have wanted to do anything else.  Outside of class you need to do your exercises (squats/pelvic rocks/tailor sitting) work on your relaxation & practice with your birthing coach, and use good nutrition.  I wouldn't have wanted to add any other method into that.