High-Risk Pregnancy

Intro and in need of support

Well, its official.  I have GD.  I attended the nutrition class and got my gluco-meter today.  I am happy to make some real lifestyle changes to my regular sugar and carb filled diet, but I have to admit I am terrified of what this could mean for my future and of course my baby's health.

My question is, and I will definitely ask this when I talk my my doctor on Tuesday, is this GD or Type 2?  I mean, I am barely 6 weeks pg, and it seems odd to call this GD so early in the game.

Thanks for any support.  I don't post a ton, but I do lurk quite a bit.  Good luck to everyone!

Re: Intro and in need of support

• I've heard that if you test positive for GD that early that its possible for it to be type 2(you had it before you got pg) but I'm not a doctor so who knows . Did you have it with a previous pg? Is that why they tested you so early? As far as the health of your baby I'll tell you what my doctors told me..As long as your GD is well controled and your being monitored the way you should be then the risk is low. The diet is easy once you get the hang of it. Also on the plus side of it I probably would have gained a ton of weight but because of having to eat healthy I've only gained 10lbs this entire pg. Good luck!