Military Families

Deployed for Delivery

Hi everyone!

Just wondering if any of you have been through (or are going through) a deployment now while you are preggers?.. It was a really tough good bye this time for my husband and I just because I was 12 weeks pregnant.. and you never know if they will get extended or what not.. (He was suppose to get home 2 weeks before my due date).. And I am a labor and delivery nurse so I understand that you have no control when your body wants to go into labor.. So of course there was a chance of him missing the delivery anyway.. But they justttt got extended until 2 and a half weeks afterrr our due date.. So now we know it won't happen...

But I was wondering what you girls did (or are doing) to try to make your husband feel included in the pregnancy. He just feels like he is missing everything.. and he is.. He wishes he could feel the kicks.. be here for the cravings.. and dr. apts and ultrasounds.. But i do my best to send him sudio of thebabys heart beat.. ultra sound pics.. and I sent him weekly belly pics.. Does anyone else have idea that I could do for him?

And when it came to deliver.. how did you do without him?.. Who did you have in with you?..

Thanks girls!

Re: Deployed for Delivery

• Hi! A lot of us have to go through this, we wrote about it a few days ago. 

https://community.thebump.com/cs/ks/forums/thread/35791142.aspx

This could be a good starting point for some of your questions. :)  

• Have you heard of Operation Special Delivery?

They provide Doulas for free for military spouses who's husband is deployed, or hurt during their service..

Umm I have a web address, Let me find it and I'll post it...

I was going to do this, but now there is a big chance MH will be home for the delivery, (his command is going to be doing their best to keep him home as long as possible for the birth) and if he is not, My mom will be here, plus I have several good friends here more then willing to be in the room with me..