Military Families
Options

Tricare Question: PCMs & Pediatricians

I am totally new to this kid thing and I don't have any military friends with kids to ask. Do we get a pediatrician (on base or off base) or do just take the baby to our PCM?

Re: Tricare Question: PCMs & Pediatricians

• Options
    My DS was assigned a pedi at the facility where he was born. 
    Baby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options

Depends on where you deliver. I am delivering at a civilian hospital even though we have Tricare Prime. The closest military hospital is 90 minutes away from us. The tricare rep that I talked to told me to pick a Tricare authorized pediatrician that was affiliated with my hospital and have that pediatrician do the initial checks at the hospital and LOs first appointment. She then told me that after we get a birth cert and SSN and LO is in enrolled DEERS we would have to see if we could keep the civilian ped or transfer to the military ped at the closest satellite clinic.

Clear as mud? Was for me too.

• Loading the player...
  • Options

It will all depend.

You'll need to call Tricare and see if there are Military Treatment Facilities in your area.  If there are, and there is an opening, he'll be sent to the MTF.

If there aren't MTF's or if your MTF is at capacity, you'll be allowed to see an in-network civilian provider.

Our MTF is full, so DD and I both see civilian Dr's.  We'll get a waiver to make sure DD and DS get to see the same civilian Dr if there's room at the MTF when we enroll him. We don't want one child at the MTF and the other at another Dr.

This is for Prime.  For Standard, you can choose your own in-network provider for your baby.

Bunny 05.2008//mc 9.2009//Bubba 07.2010//mc 10.2011//
    Bloggin' It
  • Options
    imageCoastieWife08:

It will all depend.

You'll need to call Tricare and see if there are Military Treatment Facilities in your area.  If there are, and there is an opening, he'll be sent to the MTF.