2nd Trimester

F/U: FMLA ? for teachers

FMLA protects your job for 12 weeks....I got that part.  But, here's my question...are those 12 weeks when you are "under contract" or are they 12 weeks from when the baby arrives.

ie. I am due August 17 but teachers are not supposed to report until Aug.23.  So, is the first week, when I'm not under contract, part of my 12 weeks?

Thanks!

Re: F/U: FMLA ? for teachers

• For me in NJ it is 60 working days. not school breaks, days off, etc. I am due in July and will take my FMLA sept 1- dec 3

• Not sure how it is in Maryland--but I'm an administrator in TX so I'll take a shot. Here your scenario with the 1st week when you technically are not reporting for duty would not count toward 12 week. Here we are contract for 'x' amount of days (say 187). But teachers paychecks in TX are still spaced out over the 12 month period. So since you wouldn't fill in an absent from duty form/request--- you are not requesting days.

Clear as mud? Curious how Maryland might differ though.

photo 4ed88b49-c7fa-41ac-98ae-1e6d1a108e02.jpg 

Lilypie Pregnancy tickersimage
  • Loading the player...
  • I am doing this as well. You can take 12 weeks starting on the 1st day of school, but you can't get paid. You can only get paid for 8 weeks after your due date and the rest is unpaid. I am due in July and so I get the 12 weeks but all unpaid. I am going back Thanksgiving week.
  • In PA you get 30 SCHOOL days for vaginal and 40 days for C-section.  You can use your sick and personal time so that you get paid for those days.  If you go beyond those days you will not get paid and you are protected under FMLA through 12 weeks.  Those 12 weeks begin as soon as you have the baby.
  • imageLBIgirl79: