Birth Stories

Pls tell me your big baby birth stories...good only pls:)

I am going in for an induction Friday morning.  My due date was Wednesday.  I am a labor and delivery nurse but am soo scared because the last ultrasound he weighed approx. 9lbs5oz.  Just need to hear some stories of labor and delivery with a larger baby! I am very excited, but scared! Thanks!

Re: Pls tell me your big baby birth stories...good only pls:)

• My L&D with my 9 lb 1 oz baby was ok.  I had minimal tearing and actually went fast.  I pushed him out in 10 minutes or so.  I was induced this time(you can read it below - there was no pitocin or epidural).  I don't know what questions you have in terms of what you are worried about so I don't know if I am helping or not.  They wanted to induce me this time for several reasons- big baby, fast labor, etc- and I was scared about that.  They told me my 9 lb'er would be average at 7 lbs, and then this one would be big and she was 7 lbs, 14 oz.  They provide estimates so don't sweat the size thing- my experience shows they are not always right!
  • Thanks! I just was curious how the pushing went, any tears, etc.  I am glad yours was good.  I am feeling a little better, especially since I think my labor is starting on its own now!!
  • Loading the player...
  • I had a 9 lb 13 oz baby vaginally.  The story is long, but here it is:

Allison Claire was born at 11:42 a.m. July 15, 2008 after 32 hours of labor.   She weighed 9 lb 13 0z and is tall like mommy at 22.25 inches long.   She is very healthy and doing really well with breastfeeding which makes me so happy.  

As most of you know we were hoping for a natural birth, but things don't always go as you planned.  We are so happy to have baby and mom healthy and doing well.