North Florida Babies
Options

New with lots of questions

Hello. My husband and I moved to Jax in August 2009 for him to attend law school. I am a teacher and I know that I will have to go back to work after our daughter is born. She is due May 3, 2010. I am looking for daycare. I would rather have a home-based daycare, but I am not opposed to a daycare center. I live in the Southside/Baymeadows area. Any suggestions?

Re: New with lots of questions

• Options

I'm not familiar with daycares in that area.  We tried the in-home thing and had bad luck with it, so B is in daycare now.  I'm actually a lot happier with the daycare environment - he has learned so much and he loves going.  I like that its more structured and I don't have to worry about taking off work when the in-home teacher is sick or out of town.  We get a calendar at the beginning of the school year with all of the dates that they're closes, so we can plan in advance.

The price is definitely higher though.  We pay $220/wk for daycare, some of my friends pay that for both of their kids in an in-home setting.

imageimage
    imageimage
  • Options

I have been told good things about this place:

https://www.magellanacademies.com/

I think T's learning center is also by you.

• Loading the player...
  • Options

The Learning Experience is awesome. Its on southside just past baymeadows. I think their baby room is full right now, but there may be an opening by the time you need it, if you register for a spot. I think they give a teacher discount there. I heard bad things from parents and teachers about T's, but i also know someone that is starting there soon because it is cheaper.

You can check out their website https://thelearningexperience.com/home.html  

I can also give you more names of centers in that area if you want to look at all your options.

• Options