TTC after 35

Hi, I'm a newbie - anyone else have trouble TTC #2?

DH and I are currently TTC #2 and have been for a little over a year.  My DD is 21 months old.  I guess I'm more just posting for support, since anyone I know IRL just doesn't seem to get it, especially since I've had one baby we're getting all the "so where's #2?" questions. I guess most people assume if you got pg once it should be a snap the second time!

We started TTC #1 when I was 37, got pregnant with DD in 9 cycles.  But this time no luck. I'm now 40 (ugh, it hurts to type that!)  I've had the blood tests, tried clomid, both 50 and 100 mg, no luck.  My hormone levels always come back normal, except once my progesterone was a bit low.  Our next step is to have DH tested and possible IUI. 

I guess it just hit me like a ton of bricks today after I talked to my OB's NP about getting DH tested.  Until now I guess I just figured it will happen, just be patient.  But now I can't stop thinking that maybe it won't, and we're just meant to have one, and that makes me so sad.  I love DD more than anything in the world, I just never thought we'd be "one and done". We're willing to explore IUI, but more extreme/invasive measures (ie IVF) aren't an option, financially or otherwise.

Anyone else here working on #2 (or 3, etc)?

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Hi, I'm a newbie - anyone else have trouble TTC #2?

• Hello and welcome.  We are working on #1 and I am just starting cycle #9.  We got a BFP on cycle #7 but had an early M/C.  I have not started any testing or treatment yet, but obviously its up for discussion with my DH.  We haven't decided yet how far we are willing to go medically TTC, mostly because we don't know what is all out there and how much it all costs and how invasive it is.  We have a lot to learn.  We are hoping to get a BFP again in the next couple of cycles, if not, we will be checking in with an RE I imagine.

Good luck with your journey.