1st Trimester

When to tell?

Hi there,

I'm new to the bump forums. I just found out that I am about 5 weeks pregnant. I go for my blood test today to confirm but the doctor seemed pretty sure that I am.

Assuming that the blood test confirms that I am in fact pregnant, how long should I wait before telling family? Friends? How long did you wait?

I have had one miscarriage, about a year and a half ago (we put the brakes on TTC after the miscarriage to heal physically and mentally). I was only 6 weeks and we had only found out we were pregnant about 5 days before the miscarriage. Needless to say we are excited that I am pregnant but nervous that this one won't stick like the last time.

I've read through some posts on the forum and I'm excited to get to know you ladies. :)

Michelle

Re: When to tell?

• First of all, Congratulations!

For my first pregnancy, we told our family around 10 weeks (after my 9 week check up), and friends around 12/13. This one will probably be the same.

But it really depends on what you are comfortable with. Personally, I didn't want everyone to know, because of I m/c I don't want to have to have that conversation over and over. At the same time, it is really hard keeping it a secret. :)

"Life isn't about waiting for the storm to be over, it's about learning how to dance in the rain." -Unknown

Married 3-1-08  |  Nathan 11-24-08  |  Kaelyn 11-30-10  |  Alicia  8-17-13