Austin Babies
Options

***bride***molliedb***other Baylor girls***

You two both went to Baylor, right?

I have a friend who is going to get her (2nd) PhD from Baylor and she is planning on moving to Waco in the next couple of months. I get the feeling that she is a little bit concerned about life in Waco. She is moving from NYC and has lived in medium to large cities all her life. 

So, my question for you- What can she expect living in Waco? Is there a large graduate student population? Things to do on the weekends? Night life? What about places to live?

Any information you could give me would be great! 

Re: ***bride***molliedb***other Baylor girls***

• Options
    i did!  waco has changed a TON since i graduated.  i actually know several girls (at least 5 off the top of my head) that i graduated with that still live in waco.  its definitely not a metropolis, but its close to austin and dallas.

i really don't know much about grad students, since i was in the undergrad bubble when i went there.  i know there are lots of grad students, i just don't know where they live.  though almost everyone other than freshman live off campus.

i know the nightlife has picked up- it used to be all dive bars and hole in the walls (george's, scruffy murphys) but now there are a few 'new' bars and restaurants (heck waco even has chuy's now!!)
  • Options

Yeah, they have come a long way, even since I graduated in '04.  My senior year we lived out in Robinson and it was nice and quiet, about 10-15 minutes from campus.  I really liked it out there.  If you want specifics, I can email ya.  Night life is better, a few bars around now instead of the dinky hole-in-the-walls.  There are some nicer apartments right off campus, you just have to drive around and look.  Is she going to be living with anyone?  Yeah, I don't know much about the grad population either. 

The mall has some okay shopping, but not a ton.  Good thing is it's close to here and Dallas.   

• Loading the player...