Detroit Babies
Options

How do I decide where to deliver?

I know this kind of stuff gets asked all the time.I am in a tough situation (or a really good one depending on how you look at it). I don't have an OB/GYN right now because the one I loved is no longer in my network and the new one I saw for my last annual sucked and has moved out of state. So now, we are going to start TTC, I need an annual, and I figure I should see someone who works where I would want to deliver. I can go to Henry Ford (I work at West Bloomfield), Huron Valley, St Joe's AA. I have great hospitals to choose from.

I would appreciate any pros/cons to these facilities as well as a rec for a doc or midwife that you love. I think I would prefer a midwife, since I am a nurse. I live in Northville.

TIA girls! I hope to be playing with you here SOON! :)

imageimageLilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: How do I decide where to deliver?

• Options

All I can say is I've heard great things about HFWB and St. Joe's AA, no experience though.

And I wanted to say hi and good luck with your TTC!  Hopefully we'll see more of you over here!  (This is Sheila btw).

Gabriel Joseph 6/13/2010
    BFP#2: 8/14/11 M/C 8/30/11 6w1d
    BFP #3: 10/26/11
    Beta #1 @11dpo: 22 Beta #2 @13dpo: 90 Beta #3 @17dpo: 480
    Missed m/c 12w3d 12/28/11, d&c 12/30/11
    dx Homozygous C677T MTHFR image image
  • Options
    CMM05CMM05 member

I had DS#1 at Huron Valley and I had DS#2 at Henry Ford West Bloomfield (my OB switched hospitals...)

Huron Valley hands down was the best care.

One thing I should add is that I had a c-section and at Henry Ford, you are NOT in the maternity wing.....which I believe was the cause of my concerns/issues with the hospital. They were apparently working on making some changes to the concerns I had (concerns that many other moms had as well....).