Birth Stories
Options

Isabella's Story (PTL/Bedrest/Prodromal labor/Epi fail/CSection!)

Most women are able to tell you exactly when they went into labor. If not specific to the hour, then they can at least identify the date. For me, it was slightly more questionable than that. After finding out I was pregnant just two months before our wedding, I worried more about whether my dress would fit and what I would be able to eat or drink at the reception than anything else. I enjoyed a carefree and uneventful first 32 weeks of pregnancy. That ended quickly at 32w 5d. While at work--I work as a nurse and run around throughout the majority of my 12-hour shift--I continued to complain of "not feeling right" accompanied by abdominal pain, which I attributed to a "bug" that had been going around. Since nurses and doctors make the worst patients, my coworkers offered explanations such as "you're just not used to this much weight", "you're constipated", and best of all "you're just pregnant". Well, I showed them. After arriving home and going straight to bed, I awoke with abdominal cramping, and was sent to the hospital after speaking with my physician. Upon arriving to the birthing unit--a place I had no intention of visiting for another 8 weeks--I was put on a fetal heart monitor and a contraction monitor, had a pelvic exam, and was declared to be in active labor, dilated to 2cm and 80% effaced. Both my husband, who is a physician, and myself were aware of all the reasons this could not be the day we were to meet our daughter. Never have I felt so helpless and, incorrectly so, I felt guilty. I was given IV fluid and Terbutaline to stop the contractions, and received my first dose of steroids so that, should our little one insist on her arrival, this would help her lungs produce surfactant and mature more quickly. The contractions eased up for about an hour, at which point they seemed to increase exponentially, and it became clear I wasn't going home. I spent the next two da