South Carolina Babies

Newbie :) Need advice- Columbia area and surrounding

Hello ladies!  I am new here on the bump boards and just started looking on the South Carolina boards.  I am a law student at USC and my husband is a teacher- we have 3 four legged furry 'children', but just decided to TTC last month :)  I am trying to plan as much as possible so that when we do conceive, its not as stressful to find an OB and all that.  (I'm a planner/researcher big time, lol)

I am relatively new to the area and get my annual done at the University, but they do not do OB care.  I am looking for recommendations for midwives and OB's.  I looked into the Covenant Birthing Center because I prefer to go to a birthing center with a midwife than go to a hospital.  Has anyone had any experience with them?  I also have to find an OB for a couple appointments (as long as my pregnancy is low risk) and for back up in case I become a high risk case or there is an emergency.  I was looking at the Columbia Women's Healthcare- does anyone have any opinions of them?  What about in the Lexington area?   

Any advice about Columbia would be helpful- thank you so much!

Kuddos for everyone who read all this, sorry its so long! 

Re: Newbie :) Need advice- Columbia area and surrounding

• Welcome!
    Not sure what part of Columbia you are located in, but my Dr's are at Providence Women's Health.  It's right off I-77 and Farrow Road. I cant rave more about them, both Drs are equally fantastic. I also find it great that the drs do all their ultrasounds, not a tech.  I havent inquired about widwives, but they do deliver right there at the hospital and I think both are high-risk OB's (you'll have to ask to make sure). Providence also offers a variety of pre-baby educational courses that are very reasonable $$-wise.
    Good luck! 
  • Hi!